If only life were as simple as blocking people on Facebook

Is it just me or is Facebook now simply a collection of people bragging/ moaning about their lives, videos of animals doing something cute,sad or funny, videos of people normally doing something embarrassing or painful and then pictures of random inspirational quotes.

Usually most of these things on my timeline prompt a quick block.

Which leads me onto my next point, I recently saw a quote from a friend of a friend who I just happen to have befriended on Facebook for no reason at all apart from the fact I met them briefly on a night out, because that’s what you are meant to do right?

Anyway, I digress. The quote goes on about Friendship not being about those people you’ve known the longest but those who have never left your side.

21-friendship-quotes-to-send-your-bestie

It got me to thinking about my group of friends and how even though I might not see them that often I know they would always be there for me.

Take one of my friends Zoe, we both live pretty busy lives and always plan to catch up, but thing’s get in the way sometimes. However, when we do get to see each other, it’s like we’ve never been apart. She gets me and I get her, I’m usually my critical self, but she still comes back for more.

Relationships sometimes get in the way, I’m pretty honest in saying that I want to spend time with my boyfriend Matt, and as much time as possible. But this isn’t always compatible with my friendships and I haven’t really found a way over this issue…I intentionally choose my boyfriend over my friends, how very ‘Bro’s over Hoes’ of me.

How very ‘Bro’s over Hoes’ of me

Does it have to be this way, are my friends selfish for expecting me to choose, am I in an unhealthy place where I choose my man over friends. I just want to live in a world where my boyfriend and my friends can come together and share my time.

This would not be possible with one friend in particular, Emily. Long story short, Emily and my boyfriend do not get on and for a while I’ve chosen not to see her, but I miss her and want to catch up, and I’m starting to realise that I need to share my time.

I kept this from Matt for a period, is it a lie if he doesn’t ask? But now I’m being honest, honesty is the best policy after all. He took it better than expected, but I somehow worry he isn’t telling me the full story about how he feels.

My friends will be there for me no matter what, and I need them in my life. But I also need Matt and don’t want to have to pick between the two, what is there to do?

If only life were as simple as blocking people on Facebook, if I never reply to your status it’s more than likely the reason.

Until next time..

 

Leave a Reply

